3 Feeding America network members serve this area:


State Statistical Brief: MS

Food insecurity rate 21.4 % Child food insecurity rate 28.3 % Population 2,970,036
Poverty rate 21.2 % Child poverty rate 30.3 % Unemployment rate 10.4 %

1. Mississippi Food Network

Contact Information
Website: www.msfoodnet.org
Street Address 440 W. Beatty Street
PO Box 411
Jackson, MS 39205
Map it
Phone: 601.973.7080
Fax: 601.948.6710
Executive Director: Walker Satterwhite, wsatterwhite@msfoodnet.org
Media Contact: Marilyn Blackledge (Director of Development), mblackledge@msfoodnet.org
601.973.7086
Population Served
Number of counties served: 56 Total pounds of food distributed annually: 15,750,148
Types and numbers of services agencies distributing food
Emergency: 201 Soup Kitchen: 12 Shelter: 32 Residence: 1 Day Care: 27
Multi-service: 14 Senior: 52 Rehabilitation: 0 Youth Programs: 25 Other Programs: 3
Basic programs being run (i.e. CK, KC, produce, job training)
Fresh Produce, Back Pack, Kids Cafes, Purchase Program, TEFAP, CSFP, CACFP, SFSP, Mobile Pantry, Nutrition Education, After School Snacks, Food Stamps, Community Garden

Partner Distribution Organizations

Name:
Food Bank of South Central Mississippi
City:
Brookhaven
State:
MS
Phone:
601.833.8889
Website:
http://www.ministriesbom.org
Counties served:
Amite, Franklin, Jefferson davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall

2. Bay Area Food Bank

Contact Information
Website: www.bayareafoodbank.org
Street Address 5248 Mobile South Street
Theodore, AL 36582
Map it
Phone: 251.653.1617
Fax: 251.653.4208
Executive Director: Dave Reaney, dreaney@bayareafoodbank.org
Media Contact: Connie Whitaker (Marketing and Communications Coordinator), cwhitaker@bayareafoodbank.org
251.653.1617
Population Served
Number of counties served: 24 Total pounds of food distributed annually: 15,510,828
Types and numbers of services agencies distributing food
Emergency: 399 Soup Kitchen: 16 Shelter: 5 Residence: 20 Day Care: 12
Multi-service: 33 Senior: 5 Rehabilitation: 10 Youth Programs: 20 Other Programs: 4
Basic programs being run (i.e. CK, KC, produce, job training)
Fresh Produce, Back Pack, Kids Cafes, Purchase Program, TEFAP, CACFP, SFSP, Mobile Pantry, Nutrition Education, After School Snacks, Food Stamps, Senior Brown Bag / Food Box Distribution, Reclamation, On-Site Agency Shopping

3. Mid-South Food Bank

Contact Information
Website: www.midsouthfoodbank.org
Street Address 239 S. Dudley Street
Memphis, TN 38104-3203
Map it
Phone: 901.527.0841
Fax: 901.528.1172
Executive Director: Estella Greer, egreer@midsouthfoodbank.org
Media Contact: Marcia Wells (VP Communications), mwells@midsouthfoodbank.org
901.405.0073
Population Served
Number of counties served: 31 Total pounds of food distributed annually: 10,895,646
Types and numbers of services agencies distributing food
Emergency: 109 Soup Kitchen: 4 Shelter: 11 Residence: 13 Day Care: 7
Multi-service: 29 Senior: 5 Rehabilitation: 9 Youth Programs: 14 Other Programs: 2
Basic programs being run (i.e. CK, KC, produce, job training)
Fresh Produce, Back Pack, Kids Cafes, Salvage, Purchase Program, TEFAP, Mobile Pantry, Non Food Distribution, Nutrition Education, On-Site Agency Shopping